Top Ten Tuesday: Once More, With Feeling

It’s been a long time since I last participated in the Top Ten Tuesday meme started by The Broke and the Bookish. My last list was all about ten books I wasn’t sure that I still wanted to read, and before that I wrote about my top ten historical fiction favorites!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is asking all of us to name ten books that we’d love to reread! For me, that list is about a half-mile long, so narrowing it down was exceedingly difficult…but I’m happy with the result. And now, here’s…

The Top 10 Books I’d Love to Reread!


The Queen of the Damned, by Anne Rice
This is the novel that changed me completely as a reader. It altered the way I looked at books; how I analyzed descriptions and actions; how I connected with an author’s style and voice. It’s also the book that truly launched my interest in both vampires and historical fiction. One of these days (probably sometime after the New Year), I’m just going to drop everything and read this masterpiece again!


The Shoemaker’s Wife, by Adriana Trigiani
Before meeting the lovely (and fabulously Italian!) Adriana Trigiani at Book Expo America earlier this year, I’d never read any of her books. She kindly autographed a copy of her newest title, The Supreme Macaroni Company, for me and I intended to read it as part of my #30Authors contribution back in September…until I learned that it was the third book in a series. I didn’t have time to read three books, so I opted to read The Shoemaker’s Wife instead, which I had downloaded to my NOOK prior to BEA. I’m so glad I did! It’s beautifully written and researched, and it’s definitely worth a second (or third, or fourth, or hundredth) reread!


I Shall Be Near to You, by Erin Lindsay McCabe
Hands down, my favorite new historical fiction! I Shall Be Near to You offers a very different perspective on the fighting of the Civil War — that of cross-dressed female soldiers! I could, and probably will, reread this book again and again in the near future, but I have other plans for it as well. If I finish my library science degree and go to work in a high school library, I’d love to do a unit with my classes or a book club dealing with this book! It’s both thoroughly engrossing and wonderfully informational, and I think it could make a historical fiction fan out of anyone.


Bittersweet, by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
Ahh, my first “big” read of 2014. Bittersweet will permanently hold a very special place in my heart, not just for the quality of the writing but also because of the author-blogger friendship that stemmed from the review I wrote for it. I’ve been shouting about this one from the rooftops all year long, and I feel as strongly about it now as I did back in January — that alone merits a reread! Don’t be surprised if Bittersweet pops up on my “top ten of 2014” list at the end of the year.


Measure Twice, by J.J. Hensley
If not for the #30Authors project, I may never have heard of J.J. Hensley and Measure Twice. (Thanks to Allison for including me!) I don’t typically read a lot of crime novels, factual or fictional, so I was initially a bit weary about this book. Once I started reading, however, I found myself completely sucked in and couldn’t put it down! It’s a great read for fans of Law and Order, CSI, Motive, and the like, and I can pretty much guarantee that you’ll want to pick it up over and over again!


Cutting Teeth, by Julia Fierro
I have to come clean about something: When I first read Cutting Teeth, I was under a bit of a time crunch and didn’t get to read it at my optimal pace. I enjoyed it but I was left feeling like I hadn’t read it closely enough and had therefore missed certain things. After my digital ARC expired, I decided to purchase a physical copy and give it another try — and I’m happy that I did. When you read it at your most comfortable speed, it’s truly a fabulous book. Every parent, myself included, can relate in some way to the story and its characters, and I loved it twice as much the second time I read it. I’m hoping I’ll love it thrice as much after the third reading!


Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle Paige
I love novels that retell classic stories (as long as they do it well), and Dorothy Must Die fits that bill perfectly. There are creepy twists throughout the book, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to watch Judy Garland’s portrayal of Dorothy Gale the same way ever again because of what Ms. Paige has done to the character. To say that I’m looking forward to next year’s release of its sequel, The Wicked Will Rise, is a gross understatement, and the fact that there are at least two prequel novellas already means that a reread is definitely in the cards!


The Boleyn trilogy, by Laura S. Andersen
This has easily been my favorite trilogy of late, and for good reason. It takes a well-known fragment of history and two very popular historical figures, King Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, and brings a new dimension to their ill-fated love story: What would have happened if they delivered a healthy son that survived to adulthood? It’s a fascinating question and opens the door to an alternate history, rich in detail, lust, and intrigue. I’m looking forward to rereading the Boleyn trilogy and continuing to spread the word about its fabulousness (because, let’s face it, it’s just that awesome).


The Roving Tree, by Elsie Augustave
I was mailed a copy of The Roving Tree earlier this year and, while I knew I’d read it, I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy it without having any kind of connection to Haiti. Boy, was I wrong, and I’m thrilled that I was! I will never forget the day I finished reading the book; neither before nor after that day have I ever booted up my laptop so quickly to start working on a review. I was profoundly moved by Ms. Augustave’s writing, and I hope to pick it up and feel the shifting of Earth just as I did with the first reading. It’s a heavy story, but I promise that it is a truly spiritual experience to read (and this is coming from someone decidedly non-religious).


Then Came You, by Jennifer Weiner
Of all of Jennifer Weiner’s novels, this is the only one I never finished. I don’t remember why — if it was disinterest in the story, if I was distracted with other things, or what. All that matters is that I want to give the book a fair shake (and probably fall in love with it, as I have with pretty much all of her other books), and the best way to do that is by rereading it.

An idea has just struck me and I’m totally going to go with it. You heard it here first, friends! When we celebrate the New Year, we also celebrate new leases on life, new opportunities, and “second chances,” as it were. To go with that theme, I’m going to set up January as a month of rereads! Not only will I review the books I choose for the month, but I’ll also start a new feature — much like what I do once monthly for the From Left to Write book club — in which I’ll write a post about something personal that connects to some aspect of the book I’ve read. If it goes well in January, it’ll become a permanent part of the blog!

I’m so excited!

So now, you tell me. Which books would you love to reread?

  • momssmallvictories

    Great choices and NONE of which I have not read! I enjoy historical fiction and The Shoemaker’s Wife has been on my TBR for awhile, it’d be perfect to read for our Travel the World in Books reading challenge. I really want to read Bittersweet and I have yet to read a Jennifer Weiner book but I think she’s an author I’d enjoy. Thanks for sharing!