Sunday Selections: If You Liked Divergent…

Happy Sunday, everyone! I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend! I know I am — I enjoy being busy with writing, and Lord knows there’s plenty of it to do. So far, I’m really enjoying all of the new features I’m putting together for you! I can only hope that you like them half as much as I do!

Anyway, one of the new features I’ve decided to incorporate into this little blog is called Sunday Selections. This stemmed from the desire for recommendations similar to books that friends and family have already read. Because this is my first shot at this, I wanted to start with something really widely-read. The fact that the DVD of the film version is in stores this Tuesday helps — so in celebration of the DVD release, here are three picks for —

(Image via FanPop)

 


Available only as an e-book via Barnes and Noble and Amazon
From NetGalley:
Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society.
To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins. Sinners are forced to live a less than human existence in deplorable conditions, under the watchful eye of guards who are ready to kill anyone who steps out of line.
Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home.
Constant darkness.
Brutal and savage violence.
Excruciating pain.
Every day is a fight for survival.
But I won’t let them win. I will not die in the Hole.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

Sounds delicious, doesn’t it?! It shares the dystopian element with Divergent, as well as a protagonist who refuses to be categorized. The fact that the book’s co-authors, Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki, are best friends and a huge presence on social media (I came across them and Branded through Instagram) helps a great deal. This is worth a read!

 


Available via Barnes and Noble, Amazon, or IndieBound
From Amazon:
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.
Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

I know, I know. I’m featuring another book that made it to the screen, and both happen to star the same actress. That’s beside the point in this particular case. Hazel Grace Lancaster takes the phrase “strong female character” to a completely different level: Dealing with her own cancer, and then falling in love with a boy who is in remission, who then has to hide from her that his cancer has come back and is now terminal, while they’re on the trip of a lifetime? And then — spoiler alert — the boy dies, after she thought she would be the grenade?! She’s got a well of strength that you and I probably can’t even begin to imagine. Her story needs to be read by every pair of eyeballs on Earth!

 


Available via Barnes and Noble, Amazon, or IndieBound
From Amazon:
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games,” a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.

I hope this doesn’t come across as a cop-out — all these page-to-screen adaptations — but I feel especially strongly about this one. I really believe that The Hunger Games is going to be considered an American classic someday, and here’s why: While it’s dystopian (like Divergent and Branded), its premise is much scarier. It’s the idea that children are being sent into an enclosed space to kill each other on live, national television, with the full support of that nation’s President. It’s also the fact that the winner, a teenage girl, is forced to become the leader of a rebellion against said President, who has no problem with killing lots of people to protect his post. It’s a powerful novel with some very powerful themes (love, war, murder, and dissent, to name a few) that will be applicable for as long as the human race continues to survive. That’s why it made this list, and that’s why it’s a must-read in my mind.

So those are my picks! What would you add to this list? Let me know in the comments!